Newbie Here, 83 CV80 running issue

Salient/Riva 50, Beluga/ Riva 80, Razz, Jog, Vino, C3, BWs and Zuma scooters.
thiscarcrash1
Rim Kicker
Rim Kicker
To prevent spam, enter the year 'modern' scooters were first sold in North America (hint: 1982): 1982

Newbie Here, 83 CV80 running issue

Post by thiscarcrash1 »

Hi All.
Picked up an 83 CV80 the other day.
Starts and idles fine with the key switch in the start position.
Will run fine for a while in the non-choke position, however, eventually bogs to a stall.

Yesterday I took out the carb and sprayed it down with carb cleaner, checked all the fuel lines and reinstalled. It started right up, and i drove it around the city for about an hour without issue.
This morning, I made it about 3 blocks before it bogged to a stall.
At that point, it will start right up, again at the 'Start' key position, but as soon as i turn the key to the run position it dies.

Any pointers?
thiscarcrash1
Rim Kicker
Rim Kicker
To prevent spam, enter the year 'modern' scooters were first sold in North America (hint: 1982): 1982

Re: Newbie Here, 83 CV80 running issue

Post by thiscarcrash1 »

Narrowed this down to the fuel petcock, as it will idle smoothly and without issue forever, but when under throttle it occasionally acts as if its not getting fuel.
This would point to the vacuum mechanism not functioning reliably, yes?

Will any vacuum operated petcock work as a replacement?
Dan Durston
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Dan Durston »

My understanding of the CV80 is that the start position the same as the run position on the ignition except in the start position the redline is about 2000 RPM so you can't rev high enough to actually go anywhere - supposedly a safety mechanism. Moving the switch to run raises the redline to normal (8000 or so).

So I don't think the ignition position has anything to do with the carb choke. The choke is an auto-choke that shuts off once the engine gets hot enough, regardless of ignition position.